Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item: http://hdl.handle.net/2067/43623
Title: Statement of the Prolamin Working Group on the Determination of Gluten in Fermented Foods Containing Partially Hydrolyzed Gluten
Authors: Scherf, Katharina Anne
Catassi, Carlo
Chirdo, Fernando G
Ciclitira, Paul J
Feighery, Conleth Francis
Gianfrani, Carmen
Koning, Frits
Lundin, Knut E A
Masci, Stefania 
Schuppan, Detlef
Smulders, Marinus J M
Tranquet, Olivier
Troncone, Riccardo
Koehler, Peter
Journal: FRONTIERS IN NUTRITION 
Issue Date: 2021
Abstract: 
On August 12, 2020, the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has finalized a rule related
to gluten-free labeling for foods containing fermented, hydrolyzed ingredients. The FDA believes
that there is no scientifically valid analytical method effective for determining gluten in fermented
or hydrolyzed foods. In the absence of an analytical method, the FDA has decided to evaluate
gluten-free claims on these foods based only on evidence that the food or ingredient used is
gluten-free before fermentation or hydrolysis. For example, barley-based beers from which gluten
is removed during brewing using special filtration, adsorption and/or enzymatic treatment are
therefore excluded from bearing a gluten-free label.
The Prolamin Working Group (PWG) acknowledges that the FDA rule is a regulatory act and
might have to take into consideration several aspects other than scientific evidence, including risk
assessment. Nevertheless, the PWG thinks that science has to be the most important driver for
regulatory acts in risk management.
In contrast, in the EU such beers are currently allowed to bear a gluten-free label. As required
by Regulation (EU) No 1169/2011 of 25 October 2011 on the provision of food information
to consumers, the ingredients list must include “barley malt” in highlighted lettering, because
gluten-containing cereals are listed in Annex II of the Regulation as substances or products
causing allergies or intolerances. The maximum gluten level to bear a gluten-free claim is set
in Regulation (EU) No 828/2014 of 30 July 2014 on the requirements for the provision of
information to consumers on the absence or reduced presence of gluten in food. On this legal basis,
non-governmental Organizations such as the Association of European Coeliac Societies (AOECS)
have developed the European Licensing System with guidelines that have to be met to allow using
the crossed grain symbol for gluten-free food on the label.
URI: http://hdl.handle.net/2067/43623
ISSN: 2296-861X
DOI: 10.3389/fnut.2020.626712
Rights: CC0 1.0 Universal
Appears in Collections:A1. Articolo in rivista

Files in This Item:
File Description SizeFormat Existing users please
fnut-07-626712.pdf84.76 kBAdobe PDF    Request a copy
Show full item record

SCOPUSTM   
Citations

1
checked on Sep 23, 2021

Page view(s)

12
Last Week
4
Last month
checked on Sep 24, 2021

Google ScholarTM

Check

Altmetric


This item is licensed under a Creative Commons License Creative Commons